My books

I write swashbuckling adventures inspired by ancient tales, evoking worlds of myth and magic, dripping with historical detail.

My current series, Ashes of Olympus, follows the adventures of the Trojans after their homeland is destroyed. Braving the wrath of the gods, teenage warrior Aeneas leads his people across the roaring waves to a new homeland. An epic of war and sacrifice based on Virgil’s Aeneid.

The Tooth and Blade trilogy consists of three short, powerful novels set in the Viking Age. We follow the struggles of a girl raised by trolls: Dóta must choose between her clan and humankind, or both worlds will be devoured in fire and war.

Reviews

‘Well written, with a lot of action, witty conversations and great descriptions that provided details but without tiring the reader with extensive descriptive parts. It was easy to feel the glory and the awe of the gods.’ – Eleni, Goodreads Reviewer

‘Action packed right from the start, and with its cast of many characters it felt like something that would make a good film or TV series.’ – Sasha, Goodreads Reviewer

‘Wonderful story, making the familiar seem new.’ – Richard, Amazon Reviewer

‘Sure to appeal to those who enjoy myth and classic adventure.’ – Linda, Amazon reviewer

‘Unputdownable. I know that’s not a word, but I read this book in two days.’ – Amazon reviewer

The ASHES OF OLYMPUS Trilogy

Illustrations for Ashes of Olympus trilogy by Andrew Law
Julian offers a brief introduction to the Ashes of Olympus Trilogy.

Book One: The Way Home

The gods betray you.
The winds are hunting.
Nowhere is safe.
The journey begins…

‘A sharp, action packed novel based on ancient myth.’ – Tansy Rayner Roberts

The war of the gods has left Aeneas’s country in flames. Though he is little more than a youth, Aeneas must gather the survivors and lead them to a new homeland across the roaring waves. Confronted by twisted prophecies, Aeneas faces the wrath of the immortals to find his own path.

First in a trilogy based on Virgil’s epic poetry, Ashes of Olympus: The Way Home is a tale of love and vengeance in an age of bronze swords and ox-hide shields.

Available in print and ebook formats from AmazonBookshop.org, or your favourite bookstore or online retailer.

Read the first chapter!

Book Two: The Ivory Gate

Shatter the peace.
Summon the Furies.
The Underworld awaits…

‘An extraordinary read for fans of Caroline Lawrence, Michelle Paver and classic Ray Harryhausen movies.’ – Mark Stay

Realising his quest for a homeland is not complete, Aeneas must forsake happiness and love to lead his people into the mist-shrouded land of Italia. The words of prophecy say this is where the children of Troy belong. Yet the fiery Princess Lavinia will not allow Aeneas to settle in her country and rallies her people to war. Facing an impossible choice, Aeneas must descend to the world of the dead to learn a dark truth. No longer able to escape his destiny, Aeneas will become what he has always feared.

The next instalment in a trilogy based on Virgil’s epic poetry, Ashes of Olympus: The Ivory Gate is a tale of war, sacrifice and triumph.

Available in paperback and ebook from AmazonBookshop.org, or your favourite online bookstore or online retailer.

BOOK THREE: THE SEVEN HILLS coming soon!

TOOTH AND BLADE Trilogy

Tooth and Blade: Collected Edition

Parts 1-3 of the legendary TOOTH AND BLADE series together for the first time!

‘I love Dóta and her inner turmoil as she learns the secret of what she is and begins to navigate a new world she’s never known.’ – Chelle, Goodreads Reviewer

Two worlds. One destiny.

Dóta has dwelled sixteen years among the trolls. She knows nothing but the darkness of her family’s cave. Her mother says humans are beasts who would slay them all. Yet the gods of Asgard whisper in the night: Dóta is a child of men, a monster unto monsters.

To discover her human side, Dóta must take up her bone knife and step into the light above. Secrets await her in the human realm–beauty, terror, the love of a princess.

Soon Dóta must choose between her clan and humankind, or both worlds will be devoured in fire and war.

A monster sheds no tears.

Norse mythology meets historical fantasy in TOOTH AND BLADE. Step into a realm of haunted meres, iron and magic.

Available in paperback, ebook and audio from Amazon, Bookshop.org, or your favourite online retailer. Free on Kindle Unlimited!

Read Chapter 1 or listen to a sample of the audiobook.

Part One: Foundling

They call me Peace-weaver. Warmaker. Beast.

My name is Dóta, and I am alone among my clan. The blood runs hot through my veins, though my mother’s touch gives me shivers. The gods of Asgard whisper to me in the night. I am a child of men, a monster unto monsters.

Sixteen years I have dwelled in the shadows beneath the earth. To discover my heritage, I must take up my bone knife and step into the light above. Secrets await me there—beauty, terror, the truth of who I am. Soon I must make an impossible choice, or the nine worlds will be devoured in fire and war.

A monster sheds no tears.

Norse mythology meets historical fantasy in the first novella of the TOOTH AND BLADE series, a three part serial. Step into a realm of haunted meres, iron and magic.

Free on Kindle Unlimited!

Read Chapter 1.

Part Two: Between Worlds

Fate comes for us all, but I shall not waver.

My name is Dóta, and I saw the world consumed in chaos and shadow. My brother Grethor stalks the night, gorging himself with blood. Now I must be the light against the dark. But to save the kingdom, I must become a kin slayer, most hideous of all beasts.

Caught between worlds, I have no choice but to master the ways of magic and learn all that I am. The gods shall reveal secrets and a monster shall know fear. Soon I must give up all I love or see it perish.

The epic TOOTH AND BLADE series continues as Dóta faces her destiny and discovers her true heritage.

Free on Kindle Unlimited!

Part Three: Well of Fate

The goddess demands sacrifice.

My name is Dóta. Power seethes through my flesh, though it may cost me everything. The goddess Freya seeks my mother’s doom and will smite all who stand against her. The flames of war are rising and neither love nor hate can quench them.

Torn between vengeance and despair, I must ascend to the realm of the gods to claim my place in the world. Past, present and future will collide and a new king shall rise before the end.

The epic TOOTH AND BLADE series reaches its triumphant conclusion as Dóta battles to overturn fate itself.

Free on Kindle Unlimited!